For real!

Blipper friedaquilter has long delighted me with her creative offerings every day. For the space of a year she took up the challenge of creating a small quilt every week - her Journal Quilts. A lot of us looked forward to the day when her weekly quilt would appear in a blip. We wondered at the creativity, the beautiful stitching, the colours and textures, and of course beadwork.

When the chance came to see the 52 quilts 'in the flesh', I decided I must go. Frieda had her exhibition at the Loch Lomond Quilt Show in Dumbarton. It was a delight. Not only was it wonderful to actually see these exquisite pieces of work for real, but Frieda herself is the most enchanting person. It was lovely to meet her and chat and I marvelled at the time she gave to people, as they asked her questions or just admired her work.

The Show itself is based in a range of venues around the town - churches, church halls, community halls etc. Visitors travel from one venue to another and it is a wonderful experience, as each venue is different and each exhibition is different. I did not get to each exhibition, but I saw a few. However, it was Frieda's that stood out for me, and I actually think to others as well. It was well worth the journey.

Frieda has had a number of Blipper visitors and will most likely have a few more in the next couple of days. There have been on Blip a few portraits of her (you will find links to these on her journal). I decided I wanted to show a little of her work, a few of the quilts many of you will have seen over the last year, and show you how they were displayed in this church. Of course, not an easy picture to take given the light, the stained glass, the restricted room and the number of people, but I thought you might like to see this.

My chauffeur did not see any quilts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.