Solidarity

We had an early start to get to #3 daughter’s to go to the demo in Newcastle. She and the children were out at 7am to get to the picket line at her school. One teacher in another union, not on strike, was in tears and couldn’t bring herself to cross the picket line. Instead she joined them.

We got the metro together into town. As we got out at Haymarket we saw a group of about 10 people - oh dear that’s not much of a turnout we thought - till we rounded the corner and saw the others. We walked behind the Teachers’ Union banner and behind that were other public service workers, rail workers, bus drivers, NHS workers and firefighters. We walked from
Civic Centre to Grey’s Monument where some rousing speeches were delivered. I can’t believe I’m still out there - Vietnam, Trident, Apartheid, Iraq War, save out hospital - it goes on.

After that Mr C went to pick up the new Mac and I got some new walking shoes. (After moaning about what a short time the previous ones had lasted I realised they had walked over 1000 miles.)

Back at daughter’s Luke made me a coffee and I’ll cook the meal before Mr C and I head back into town to meet Ailie and Chris for Scottish Ballet’s The Snow Queen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.