Closed!

One thing we came to London for was the ‘Hieroglyphs’ exhibition at the British Museum. I have long been interested in this and was looking forward to at last getting to the exhibition.

So this morning, with tickets in hand, we arrived at the British Museum to find a long queue . . . and a picket line. Ah! Staff were on strike. Eventually the gates were closed - the Museum was closed because there were not enough staff to run it.

Of course I was disappointed, but I have sympathy with the strikers - it’s been known for a long time how underpaid staff at these places are. I doubt now I will get to the exhibition, but not to worry. I had purchased the book, leaving it at home as it is massive, so will read that.

London was very quiet with trains not running, but there were buses and they were not striking at Waterstones or at restaurants!

Then . . .

The other reason we were here was to go to see ‘Orlando’ at the Garrick Theatre. This was open! Stunning! Absolutely loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.