Dipping and diving

We went to the gravel pit today to check on what ducks might be hanging around. The farthest pond had swans and mallards swimming around. The first pond on the property had a nice assortment of diver and puddle ducks. We saw ringbills, sculp, hooded merganser, ruddy ducks, and dippers. They were all having a grand time in their safe haven. If it had not been so cold I could have stayed there all day. I was up near the road and the ducks were a good distance away since I did not have permission to be there. The gravel pit office was closed and it looks like nothing has been going on for quite some time so there was no one to ask permission from. I enjoyed seeing them as we have only had a few in the river in front of our house so far this year. I guess the cold weather at the end of the week will freeze up the ponds and the ducks will have to go to the rivers and deeper creeks.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.