pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Strike

From the outset, I wish to make it clear that I know that teachers do a tough, stressful job each and every day and should be properly remunerated for their efforts and where they are not, they should be given the right to strike/protest about it….but FFS are we asking too much as parents to have just a little notice of their intentions?!

8.05 this morning I received a text message saying that one child shouldn’t come in and another message message saying that the other one can, but will need to be collected again at midday. Fortunately, via one of my ex-wives (I forget which one), I was lucky enough to have support from nearby grandparents and could offload the wee ones (they both had the day off), but I bet that there were plenty of parents who did not and were hedging their bets on whether the strike would go ahead and have now lost out on a day’s work (and possibly pay) too.

It’s fair to say that I may have started the day a little more grumpy than usual with a charm reduction of approximately 78.6%

Of all things to lighten the mood was work! The last of three challenging cases all renewed, which meant January finished well and meant that February was off to a good start. I wonder how long this good run will last for?! The wheels have got to come off soon.

With all the buzz around Happy Valley, I went back to the very start the other day to see what all the fuss was about and was immediately hooked. Sarah Lancashire’s performance is absolutely superb. A true study in naturalistic performance. Can’t be easy with all those cameras in your face.

Took a stroll at teatime to get some tea and snapped this of a very low river just up the road from me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.