Gambling

A day which ebbed and flowed. The bus we were intending to take to do another Levada walk was full and we were unable to get on it. The next one wasn't for three and half hours! An alternative plan was hatched and we somehow ended up walking up into the mountains to Pico Alto and finishing at Ribeira des Cales, where we found a little bar open. A coffee and some hot food was very welcome indeed. It was cold up there. Remarkably, on leaving the bar to try to get a bus back to Funchal, not overly optimistic, one came along within a minute of us reaching the bus stop! 

Back in the city I persuaded E up another hill in pursuit of a Levada path that I failed to find on my first day. The starts of these things are hidden away in obscure places. With the help of a local, I finally found it (for future reference) and we got another bus back down to the centre again. E was rewarded for the effort with a thoroughly deserved ice-cream. She's a damn good sport for putting up with my whims. The sun had come out by then too.

A day when my street photography was a lot more interesting than my cloudy mountain photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.