WORTH GETTING UP EARLY FOR!

At 10 o’clock last night, I decided that I would get up early and go down to a nearby supermarket to do some shopping, but when the alarm went off at 6 a.m. it didn’t seem like such a great idea!  However, I was out of bed and in Morrisons by 6.30 and then home again by 7.45 with the shopping done.  On the way home I saw this wonderful sunrise but couldn't stop, so dashed upstairs when I got in and took this shot from our bedroom window -  it was certainly worth getting up early for!

I was due to meet my lovely friend, Caroline, this morning for a coffee, so on the way, I wanted to drop a card off for Graham, Keith’s son, who was staying in his Dad’s house.  I decided to ring the bell rather than just put it through and I was glad I did, as Graham and I had a lovely chat on the doorstep for about 10 minutes.  We both said that we were pleased that his Dad hadn’t had a long and painful illness to end his days and that he had only  been ailing for about six weeks in total - what a blessing.  Graham said he felt part of the community and everyone had been so kind - definitely a legacy of his Dad’s kindness and interest in all his neighbours over the many years he had lived there.  

I did tell Graham he should look at all the lovely comments made by my Blip friends - as they had all known “Mr. HCB’s cricket buddy, Keith” and seen photographs of them both over the years, so he said he would look and I’m sure will be comforted by them.

Caroline and I enjoyed our coffee together and caught up on our family news - it took us two hours, but it was good to see her - just hope it won’t be so long before we get together again.  Her husband’s mother died last November so Caroline did give me some jigsaw puzzles for Mr. HCB, and also some knitting needles and wool that belonged to her.  There is a half-finished jumper that Caroline suggested I might be able to finish - but having looked at it, I will have to sort out where in the pattern I start from - ah well, you know I like a challenge!

Now back home and binge-watching some programmes I recorded - and hope to get round to commenting later.  THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH for the kind comments you have left in the past few days, all of which are much appreciated.

“Each sunset brings closure, 
     and each sunrise brings 
          new possibilities and 
               both have beauty.”
Karin Schwan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.