Yes that is a spanner in my tyre

I know that POG likes spanners https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3068199420035072194

They are now well and truly in my bad books!  On my way to work this morning a banging started up at the back of the car. I pulled over and discovered a very flat tyre (extra).  

I called on Ian for help and as I was waiting for him to drive to the rescue a white works van limped past me - also with a flat tyre.

We chatted with them and they had a huge gash in their tyre so had to change it. They offered to help with ours and that is when we discovered the spanner well and truly wedged in it.  They used some brute force but couldn’t extract it so we had to call on the AA for help. It had also damaged some of the material around the wheel arch.

It was a long, cold wait.  When the AA man arrived he tried to pull it out but it wouldn’t budge.  He then removed the tyre and tried again but it still wouldn’t budge.  

So he popped on a temporary AA tyre so we could crawl on that to a garage and he followed along to make sure we made it safely and so he could have his tyre back!.

The tyre place couldn’t get replacements until Monday but as the car was a bit wobbly on the temporary tyre we all decided  against driving further to a bigger tyre place and left it with them until Monday.  At least we have a second car to keep us going.

The offending spanner is in the extra. It was the bigger end that got swallowed up and was reluctant to leave.

So I have had better Fridays.  Hope you have all had a better day.

At least I can tag it for the derelict challenge!  And Leo’s comment did make me laugh (extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.