Reworking an old canvas

I spent the day reworking a painting I did 12 years ago of my maternal great Grandparents. I'm still not totally satisfied, but I'm happier with the painting. It's taken from a photograph made in front of our house, their house then in 1910 at a barn dance celebration. I've painted them in a more ghostly,  pose, sitting on a ledge in a heavy fog with the Machias River obscured below and in back of them. Linnie died young, Will outlived her by over 40 years in the same house we now visit when we can. Their daughter Abbie never married, cared for her father in his later years. He was a jack of all trades, a teacher, studied a bit of law, farmer, insurance agent, general store owner and Postmaster. He also spent many years as a Maine State Representative from Washington County.Abbie served as Machiasport Town Clerk and left the house to my mother when after she died at 97, still living alone and enjoying life.

For the Record,
This day came in bitterly cold, many low temp records could be broken tonight and tomorrow.

All hands begging for PEACE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.