P3dro

By P3dro

My Name is Maryan - after Goya

Right, I'm nearly up to date. Feeling much better today. Even managed eggs and salad for breakfast. Which is just as well as I have to navigate a 5 hour flight home without throwing up.

Had time to walk (Hey! Get me) to Tel Aviv Museum of Art. It's a massive place, split across two buildings and full of known (Barbara Hepworth, Henry Moore, Picasso) and lesser known art works.

Maryan was a new one on me. Taking influences from his life in Poland, Auschwitz (yes, really), Jerusalem, Paris and New York.

These images, however are a reference to Goya. Neither of them were really interested in turkeys, but they are an allegory to human suffering. Subjects which both artists dealt with one way or another through their bodies of work. 

I'm no art critic, and, indeed, I find artspeak difficult to deal with at times. But these were really affecting. And I get the point Maryan was making. There was more than just a tear in my eye as I looked at them.

Tel Aviv - you've been entertaining, even if I was only here for a week and spent about one third of it in bed feeling shit. It would be nice to go back with more energy, for I feel I have scratched little more than the surface.

Taxi to the airport was more 'exciting' than I was expecting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.