Sea Smoke Sunset

Cold and the colors of cold: mineral, shell,
And burning blue. The sky is on fire with blue
And wind keeps ringing, ringing the fire bell.


from Cold, by Robert Frances


I took the back way home after coming onto the island hoping to get a decent photo of the sea smoke boiling off the ocean in the cold. The car thermometer only had the temperature at -1 (F), but with the strong wind it was obviously much colder. I was hoping a longer exposure might capture the scene a bit better, but no luck. My phone stopped working after a couple of photographs, and I had to climb back into the car before I simply broke it. In real life it was an impressive scene. The temperature is still dropping and the wind is picking up, so I expect the house to feel a bit chilly tonight. Those must be some hardy people living north of us where this weather came from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.