Te Araroa Trail

Every day during the summer I see people walking the Te Araroa Trail.  You can tell who they are by the big packs on their backs.  The walk takes from 50 to 80 days in each island.  This guy has just left Wanaka, and is heading to Glendhu Bay.  I didn't talk to him, so not sure where he is staying the night.  After he passed by a group of 6 hikers came along.  They all looked very fit and seemed to be enjoying themselves.  Not for me toooooo far!!  

The track is over 3,000 kilometres (nearly 2,000 miles) from Cape Reigna at the top of the North Island to Bluff at the bottom of the South Island.  If you walk 25 kms a day, it will take 120 days to walk, - four months.  

I walked to Waterfall Creek and back, a distance of 10k steps, or 7 k's.  That is far enough for me on another hot day.  +28C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.