Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

A gigantic icy sepia high heel

In a shady spot there was still a formation of snow/ice that looked just like a high heel shoe. The original shot looked quite dull. It looked better in sepia. But making a sepia version the way I've usually done it -using "colorize" command and moving one slider in GIMP, felt too easy. Instead I used "color balance" command in which you have to adjust shadow, midrange and high key areas, each with three sliders. It was quite time consuming (especially with integrated laptop mouse). I used at least 20 minutes and made several different versions until I came up with a version that I found good enough (and close enough to sepia).

P.S. The shoe owner must be rather tall. The shoe was almost one metre in length...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.