Adam's Images

By ajt

Tall

I had forgotten how noisy a metropolis like Paris is. For the past 4 and a bit years I've lived in a quiet part of a small town, and the 17 years before that in a small village. The flat we were all staying in was quiet and double glazed with modern well fitting windows, but even so, the noise from the street was constant and loud all night long....

After breakfast we all used the flat's WiFi connection to get a bit of work done, before cleaning up and going our separate ways. My return was by Gare de Montparnasse, where all the trains for Brittany depart. I could have taken an earlier train but I'd have had to change in Rennes, and then taken a slow train to Saint-Malo, arriving basically at the same time as taking a directly TGV that departed half an hour later. I waited for my colleague to depart on his earlier train and then went outside to stretch my legs before being cramped up on the train for a few hours.

Today's back blip is the tour at Montparnasse, one of the few tall buildings inside Paris. It is not a popular building and by modern standards considered a very poor working environment and it is just old enough to have asbestos in it - though most of it has been removed... The only good thing people say about it, is that from the top you do get a very good view of the rest of Paris!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.