WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Blue

Another beautiful day, a lazy Sunday. S went out with one of his habitual walking groups. After breakfast and Wordle, I walked up to the top of the hill above the house. It's another millionaire's row, similar to the area we were in last year except even grander. They do have a very nice view ... that said, it's not as beautiful as ours was

Of course at this time of year almost all the houses are shuttered and unoccupied behind their imposing gates and security cameras. There was an incongruous little wooden chalet that did have someone living in it though, along with a loudly barking dog which pursued me along the road to the apparent unconcern of its owner.

S was home by mid-afternoon, for a light lunch of leftovers. This evening I decided to make a tarte tatin with some puff pastry I'd brought with me and which needed using, and some bright green Granny Smith-like apples I bought in the fruit and veg shop on Friday. What a disaster. Cooking the apples revealed they were more like Bramleys than Granny Smiths -- they dissolved into a mush, and also burnt easily. Then I couldn't get the oven to work (should have checked this before I started). S phoned Gracia, the owner, who lives next door, but she was in Almuñécar. She popped in when she got home  and it turned out to be a couple of switches in the fuse box that needed flipping. So I baked the tart and the result was definitely not worth the cost of the electricity. Oh well! Tomorrow is another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.