Eye Contact With An Egyptian Daddy Goose

A topical blip. For a start a raft of museums have announced that they'll use "mummified persons" instead of "mummies" and are wondering whether human remains should be on display at all.

A book entitled The Meaning Of Geese by Nick Acheson has just been published. It's about winter goose-watching in North Norfolk. He loves pink-footed geese but hates the Egyptians, which he argues aren't real geese anyway. I've heard that they're more like ducks and I like them as I've found their pair bonding is very strong and the males particularly protective of the females.

I went to Holyfield Farm this afternoon where I knew that I would find some Egyptians. A pair was on the bank of the little pond by the farm entrance catching the lovely sunshine. (Extras) I approached them talking all the time and telling them how beautiful they are. I was able to get quite close as they're used to humans.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.