Westport Weka

A trip to Westport isn't complete without a weka, or two!

Typical West Coast weather too!

The weka is a flightless NZ native of the rail family. Female in front, male at rear. They are only found in some areas so its always pleasing to see them. Ironically as I was driving back into Murchison tonight there were two on the side of the road (we do have them here, they're just not as prevalent as they are on the West Coast). Their feet sort of remind me of the starfish fungi I blipped yesterday.

I took a group of students to Westport today so that they could participate in a film-making workshop. They tell me it was well worth it, which is what you always hope to hear when you've taken them out of school for a day to do something new.

While they were work-shopping I was just plain working. I got a lot of paperwork, planning and marking done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.