Kidstones

This time of year is tricky to fit in longer rides. Rich had yesterday's beauty - my turn today.  Trouble was, I had to be back in time for a shower before physio at 4.30 - and that means accounting for possible epics too.

Be prepared, I say!  I've found the North Yorkshire live gritting map which shows you all the roads that have been gritted in the last 10 hours along with where the gritters currently are. Top of Kidstones was my plan and it  had a black line of grit on the website.  Hmmmm, but so does Park Rash and Fleet Moss!  I had my sensible head on though and given I was pleased to avoid the ascent of Malham Moor the other week, I went for the easiest option - just managing to convince myself to have a little test on the Cow and Calf on the last stretch home.

I set off at 8am and -1°C and the roads were fairly dry with plenty of salt.  My one too many layers theory of keeping my extremities warm has become standard and the outing was a delight.  Better than that, the tennis elbow that I've had for a while appeared to be slightly better when I got home than when I left. 

I stopped just once for a photo - it's the road to Fleet Moss which looks inviting - maybe next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.