ColoradoKristin

By ColoradoKristin

Tiny bits of life

It's still the middle of the winter, but the catmint is sending up tiny new leaves at the base of last year's dead stalks. This is one of the toughest plants in my garden. It survives drought and freezing temperatures and shows signs of life when everything else lies dormant. In the summer it grows huge and fragrant, with tiny purple flowers and sagy green leaves. When the cats manage to sneak outside, they can often be found nesting in the middle of the catmint. I pick them up and bring them back inside, smelling pleasingly of the outdoors and often with a couple stray purple petals caught in their fur.

I haven't been taking as many photos, since I've been recovering from an oral surgery last week that turned out to be a little more taxing than I expected. Looking forward to getting out and spotting some more persistent little bits of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.