Bright and dark...

... the weather, the landscape, my moods.

Today was a much better day than yesterday (Weds).

I managed to do a fair amount of gardening in between the rain, sun, threatening sky, sun, rain, sun, threatening sky, sun craziness that was going on all day. I was crazy enough to hang out loads of washing that got soaked, dried, soaked and semi-dried again. I brought it in, thinking a good rinse in rain was surely okay. Probably.

I nearly deleted yesterday's write-up so many times and then decided not to.
I'm not all bright. I'm also dark. s'no use pretending otherwise. Even if it does read as a pile of self-indulgent whinging about nothing. The feelings were enough to cripple me and give me a mild headache and shaky arms for 2 days, and I need the words to remind me where I'm going wrong, or to show myself that maybe I'm not going wrong - I'm just having one of those days with those kind of thought/mood visitors.

Anyway, Thursday was a much brighter day than Wednesday. I got out for a walk and didn't get peed on until right at the very end, which was fine. The swallows were making the most of the flies that the warm, moist air in between showers were throwing up. I took a series of photos while balancing on a steep grassy bank by the edge of the road. But concentrating on getting the moody sky, the sun-lit rapeseed flowers, and the swallows (which are bloody difficult to photograph at the best of times) plus keeping my balance was pretty damned difficult. There's a swallow in this pic but probably not visible on small screens.

It was lovely to see summer returning to the dunes above the beach, and capture the odd bee and butterfly. Still not many of them but a reminder that things can and do improve.

It was Gemma's turn for a college interview today. She thinks it went okay and hopefully it's convinced her that however good at art you are, you still have to actually do some work. Ahem.

(Now I've looked at this I think I haven't chosen the best picture. Why is it so difficult to look at your own photos?)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.