rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

Make a different life

"If you want to run, run a mile.
If you want to experience a different life,
run a marathon."

Emil Zatopek

Boy, is that true!

The journey towards my first marathon was special and challenging. And then there was the actual Big M-day. My first marathon, London, was....

*A*W*E*S*O*M*E*

Never have I been so pleased to come 33,555th at something. Boasting my place in the final 1000 completers with 6:52:27 on the clock. Somewhat slower than planned, but heck what's time when you're having a mass dance, sing and textathon in one of the world's most iconic cities. The physical, emotional and social aspects of the event just 'clicked'. Lots of my demons were either zapped. Simple as that. And I have bottled the awesomeness, to use sparingly in the future.

My camera for the day was my Blackberry but, as I had wrapped it cling film to protect from rain, sweat and the on course showers, that didn't quite work. Thanks to my friends, a budding group of amatuer and professional photographers, there are many moments of this special day doing the rounds and plastered over Facebook.

I managed to grab my camera to get this one picture for my blip. I was too europhoric to get any aim or focus. But I wanted just one click, one picture for my blip before handing the camera back so I could enjoy the moment and capture it all with my own eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.