Calm on the outside

My day was fine, better than fine in fact.  Ladies who lunch (Charlie, Maddy and me) enjoyed a salad at ASK in Chelmsford town centre, when I took today's photo of the River Chelmer (again) that runs alongside the restaurant behind the High St.  Then I spent an hour in the warm afternoon sunshine repotting some seriously pot bound house plants, followed by an hour video call with mbfiatw Jean, before Gareth joined me for dinner this evening when we also, out of curiosity, watched Wrexham in the FA cup. Oh well, but well done boys, all the same. 

But behind my day's pleasantries is the mantle of sorrow as the day is punctuated with the ongoing heavy news from my beloved adopted country.  Some friends on this and other platforms have enquired if I'm safe, not realizing that I am currently in the UK, thank you - and yes I am safe as are all my friends in Istanbul and Aydin province - but not so their families as news trickles in of relatives lost, injured and homeless. I feel, as do we all, so inadequate.  With donations to the British Red Cross and AKUT*, I'm placing my faith in the knowledge that Turkey is sadly well organized in disaster relief, they've had so much practice. 

AKUT is entirely a voluntary, non-governmental organization involved in searching, assisting and rescuing all who require aid within its authority and means, in mountain or other nature-related accidents, natural disasters and all other emergency conditions by means of well-trained, disciplined, high-standard personnel and equipment, passing on knowledge to society with no political affiliation.- akut.org.tr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.