Kestrel With His Catch

Another rare sighting for me, today - a kestrel dropping down from an overhead wire to some long grasses below and re-emerging with his catch which he proceeded to devour!

I woke to frost this morning and decidedly low temperatures but the sun had warmed things up a bit by the afternoon. I had a really lovely walk by the river. The kestrel kept me and my camera well entertained but I also saw a little grebe, cormorants, lots of small garden birds and a whole tree-ful of pied wagtails! And a kingfisher did a flyby. Happy days :)

Blue Tit In Flight in my b&w journal

Robin in 'My Third' journal

Huge thanks for sharing my enthusiasm over yesterday's 'Not one kingfisher, but three!', even though the photos are really only 'record' shots!

Ann

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.