Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

That's it!

The only picture I took, so no contest when it comes to choosing my blip. The window of LV near to Harvey Nicks (thanks Marchmont). If you look closely I'm probably in one of those silver balls, or at least my reflection is! It's not very well lined up as I had to grab a shot between pedestrians. Still it caught my eye.
I didn't sleep well last night (again I hear you groan) my teeth again. What is it with my teeth and travel. This time the tooth on my bridge chipped! It's a bit much when replacement teeth start going too. The said bridge is due to be removed in May and I'm trying to keep things stable till then, but I think it's moved. Anyway the upshot was another dental panic for me and a very sharp edge. My lovely dentist is seeing me tomorrow though, so fingers crossed she can put my mind at ease and remove the sharp edge. That appointment for Wednesday was the outcome of an early phone call. I'm so grateful to them.
A little more relaxed once that was arranged, I went into town for a pre travel free facial. I decided it was better for my stress levels to just bite the bullet today and just take the car. There are more road works on Queensferry Road with associated delays particularly on the way out of town. As a lifelong Edinburgh resident, I'm pretty good at roundabout, convoluted, longcut routes that get me to places. I do sympathise with those who are not.
The ladies in John Lewis were lovely, I had an extended appointment as they weren't busy and I've come away with a huge bag of face cream samples to give to the school staff in India. Luckily I've got plenty of luggage space. Somebody gave me a big tin of shortbread to take out to a friend yesterday, I smiled sweetly, I can fit it in though so that's OK.
I also came away with an inflight essentials rescue pack of samples which she put together for me.
Back home next to wait for Katy who was coming for a bon voyage coffee with me on her day off. We had a nice catch up and she brought Soderberg buns, yummy.
...... and then came the text message to say Ali's husband has passed his driving test, hooray. That will make their lives so much easier. He had been having lessons pre lockdown, then that all stopped and its been hard to get a test since. It's all taken a very extended time and so they've been spending a fortune on lessons. It will be so good for them not to have that additional expense. First time too, well done to him.
I made, and didn't burn this time, another batch of shortbread. Katy is taking the over cooked batch to use as crumble and as a biscuit base for a tray bake so it's not wasted!
Next on the agenda was to go and meet Ali after school, for a bon voyage coffee in Costa in Corstorphine. We put the world to rights there too, she is so pleased about the driving test news. We went and picked Josie up from nursery, I could hear her shouting her version of 'Grandma' when she was still inside the building when she saw me through the window, that warmed my heart. She's got a lovely nature, words are coming but she's at that stage where you need to know what she's saying in order to work them out!
I walked home with them to pick up a gift for my friends' daughter in India who had a baby on the 31st Jan. She and Ali used to play together when her family was based here for four years in the mid 90s. Lovely that they both now have daughters.
From Ali's I went round to our former Rector's home to pick up another gift for said baby. As I said earlier it was a day for using the car.
I went home via the chippy and we had a special (bread-crumbed) haddock fish supper, my choice, delicious.
After dinner we removed all the (40+) face cream samples from their little boxes to reduce bulk and I packed them. We were about to watch the final episode of Strike when I got an email to say online check - n was open, so that is done too.

Wednesday will be a big catch up day, but I'm almost ready to go.

I'll apologise now, for the fact that there will be spells when I won't keep up with writing comments over the month I'm away. I will try to blip and to read people's journals, but may not have time to actually write anything on them. Thank you all for your support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.