Exciting pictures

You probably thought I’d be taking and sharing really cool pictures from South Africa. 

Nothing bad happened today. 
I had no time sensitive things today and that meant I was mellow about going to the wrong place this morning. I asked to go to the embassy. I was taken to the embassy. Some time later I learned that “embassy annex” is not at the embassy. It is ok. I got where I was going eventually. 

And then at lunch, my ticket got lost, and by the time I had my food, my lunch companion had finished his. 
It is ok. I got my lunch and then I ate it in my office, far away from anyone’s aerosols. 

Then I took the wrong shuttle from work to the hotel. As a result, I went to the wrong place. But for some reason the correct shuttle driver did not leave so I was driven back to work and then took the correct shuttle and I did make it back to my hotel, safe and sound. In fact, on the wrong shuttle, I connected my cell phone to the vehicle and we all enjoyed listening to Tracy Chapman, the only person on my playlist they recognized. The driver’s favorite is Fast Car. 

Today I learned
To go to the Annex, not the Embassy
How to get an omelette in the hotel restaurant
How to get coffee at the hotel restaurant
When I have to leave work to take advantage of the free shuttle
That the lunch cafeteria is really cheap
Don’t get the salad

When I got to work I was hugged by three women I don’t even know and have never met before. These were outstanding, enthusiastic, warm hugs. These were the hugs you wished your loved ones gave you. They were just so happy I had finally freaking made it to South Africa after ALL THE AGITA.

And then I brought out the chocolate!
Hey!

You know this is my reentry? I have not been working in an office since the pandemic sent us home. Fortunately a nice person who is working somewhere else said I could use her office and fortunately lots of people were out because no one has to work in the office full time anymore, so reentry was gentle. And I got hugged.

Oh, women hug better than men. They just do.

I’m sure it is because we’ve taught men it isn’t safe to hug.

Everyone who asked how my flight was promptly gave me the answer = LONG. It was long, but I had more room in economy than I expected to have. No one sat next to me. I found a flight attendant’s bracelet and it had sentimental value. So not bad.

The food I ate would so sadden my friend who was hoping for something exciting. I had scrambled eggs. I got a flat white - because mambo introduced me to to them - and it was great. I had a veggie wrap and totally boring side salad. I had yogurt for dinner. Tomorrow I will have an omelette.  Living large. 

USAID just gave a mobile power plant to Ukraine. It was made by GE and can power 100,000 homes. 

Zelensky went to the UK and he and the Prime Minister hugged. My hugs were better. “ His speech was greeted with enthusiastic cheers from both MPs and peers. Hours afterwards, Downing Street announced that the prime minister, Rishi Sunak, had asked Ben Wallace, the defence secretary, to investigate which jets the UK might be able to send to Ukraine in the future.”


On state TV (!!!) Russians complained that they don't understand Putin's real objectives in his war against Ukraine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.