Fallen but still living

It was a race against time to get out for our walk in the afternoon before the forecast rain arrived. We succeeded, just! Despite the advancing rain clouds, I stopped to have a look at this long-fallen tree. The thick, moss covered trunk is lying on the ground but a numbered of strong branches have continued to grow, reaching towards the light. I must remember to have a look at this when it comes into leaf again.

We made exciting plans for a summer break in August, a special treat for both of us. Nick is going to have a week fishing on the Aberdeenshire River Dee and normally we would either book a self-catering property or stay in the camper van. I would enjoy either of these but this time we are going to stay  in a hotel. N thinks I am badly done by, having to provide meals while on holiday (although I don’t mind at all), so he wants me to have a holiday where I am looked after. What’s even better is that the hotel is dog-friendly so Bertie can come too. He is ever so excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.