Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

RIO GRANDE Southern Delivery Truck

Today I finished the RGS truck.  It was seen in a photo of the Dolores CO station in one of my train books.  The extra is a close up of the truck.

The model started life as a Texaco delivery van. I took off the decals, painted it with clear gloss, and applied the RGS decals.  Thankfully those two door decals were the only ones I had in black but they went on fine.   Probably bought over 30 yard ago.  Then a coat of clear dull and it was ready for weathering.  After all, the RGS did not really wash stuff in 1950!

I scratch built the roof top rack from wood like the actual truck - a bit fiddlely because the truck roof had a slight curvature.  The ladder build was beyond tricky and fiddlely.  I used very thin brass rod, bent like the real ladder, and cut off rungs.  I failed at soldering on the rungs, so went with gel ACC glue which worked great.  A shot of light gray and it was ready as the last step to be added to the truck.

Now I am onto the next building in Dolores.  This and one other are the last new structures to build. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.