Cygnus

By Cygnus

Peas in a pod

We were given an interesting exercise in the watercolour class this week - making a painting with just one colour. In this case the colour was sap green and we had to use different dilutions of the pigment to add tone to our painting of peas.

This is an exercise that was good for me as I tend to use fairly pale, dilute colours anyway so it was interesting to use more and more pigment as I progressed. You can see the little test squares I used above to make sure I was actually using different concentrations.

Next up was an orange, but that wasn’t anywhere near as successful as the only orange I have is a very lurid one. I’ll maybe mix in some browns and yellows to that one eventually.

I’m off to Liverpool this afternoon to stay with number 1 peanut and the little Baggins. We were all full of the cold and various other germs at Christmas, so I didn’t get enough nana time with my newest little granddaughter. I’ll be making up for that over the next week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.