Reflections on the day

Went out to Beckford Silk today. Lovely materials and artwork. Was able to get a nice lunch into the bargain. My Blip was taken in their grounds and I liked the reflections in their pond.

I have tried out the AI software a bit more. At first sight it comes across as very impressive. Even talk in the news about AI replacing Google as the main search engine on the web.

My first attempt was to see if it could generate an alternative ending to Happy Valley.  However I was not specific enough in background information so I have to provide more context. Maybe next time I will try this.

I then asked  for a story about a squirrel and a pheasant becoming good friends. It generated an interesting story which I thought was good.

Then I asked AI for a story about a squirrel and a magpie becoming good friends. The results illustrated the potential shortcomings of AI. There were differences but a lot of similarities.  In its simplistic form it looks to draw material from well known and over used cliché. Magpie loves shiny objects.

Here are the openers

“Once upon a time, in a lush green forest, lived a mischievous magpie named Max.”


“Once upon a time, in a dense forest surrounded by rolling hills and meadows, there lived a plucky pheasant named Pete.



So I haven’t found something to replace me in writing my granddaughter’s stories…..yet.


At least you get an idea of the source material used with Google. People may be less inclined to challenge material from AI as there are no references.


Any way I have found it useful for generating some ideas and may use a paragraph generated by it on writer’s block. I have not found it very creative. Something to try out again in the future.


Extras are just the results of experiments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.