PhilipC

By PhilipC

What a waistlime!

The waistline or girth of the Great Lime of Holker officially measures 7.9 metres. The Lime is listed by the Tree Council as one of the 50 oldest/greatest trees in Britain. The fluted nature of the trunk makes the actual measurement subject to debate, but you'd need to be a rather out of the ordinary Tree-Hugger to get your arms round this one!

Holker Hall is in the southern part of the Lake District, in what I, as a Lancastrian by birth, want to speak of by the old name of 'Lancashire Beyond the Sands', but which has for many years been Cumbria (by act of bureaucratic decision and questionable wisdom).

One of my current joys is to note and record by picture interesting trees I come across. This makes me a dangerous driver on country lanes, as I have at least half an eye on the surroundings, and especially the skyline in the hilly country that I love.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.