Connections

This is the table beside my chair where I sit each morning.  The sunlight was lovely so I thought I'd take a picture of it.  Then I realized that I had a personal connection to every part of this still life.  The handmade lace doily I bought from an elderly lady in St. Petersburg, Russia when I was there in 2005.  There is a picture of my dear Purrcilla who crossed the rainbow bridge in 2010 when I retired.  I made the pincushion using one of my mother's master salt dishes.  She had a huge collection of them. The button was from my Auntie's button jar and the tatted lace around the cushion was made by my grandmother. The fabric was some of my dear friend Dotty's stash.  Her daughter gave me a lot of her fabric when she died several years ago.  The two spools of thread were my mothers.  I got all her sewing things when she died.  (I will never have to buy a spool of thread for the rest of my life!)  Lastly, the clan badge is one I got in Scotland last May.  My late husband was a member of the Turner Clan who were part of the Lamont Clan so this is his badge. The clan motto written on the badge is, "Neither despise or fear".  So many connections in a few objects.  (I added the wee mouse to the screen...extra.)

Gift#41- connections

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.