Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dickensian

Today was a London day (blood tests, etc).  It was also a bird day - unusual for me when I'm in London, I'm mostly shooting people.  Also, oddly, I've placed these shots in the order I took them in, something I just don't normally do.

Anyway, these were all taken on my way back to Waterloo as I walked along the South Bank.  The first shot (my first of the day) was taken just outside Guys.  I couldn't resist this Dickensian little character, dressed up, sauntering like a cool dude and absolutely filthy.  I wished I'd had a sandwich crust for him!

The first extra is a starling in Borough Market, then there's the bird lady - another Dickensian character, she goes every day down onto the Thames foreshore and feeds the birds.  Today I counted 35 swans, 20 gulls, a couple of Egyptian geese, ditto greylags, and too many pigeons to estimate.  Then there's an old barge being fairly worked on by a collection of cormorants.  The last extra is just a bit of grafitti I enjoyed.

So that's been my day.

Have a happy weekend all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.