Golden

A much needed bright spot on a very grey day.   A hoop petticoat daffodil that I have raised from seed obtained through a seed exchange.  It's a deliberate hybrid, Narcissus romieuxii 'Atlas Gold', a particularly strong yellow coloured form from the Atlas mountains in Morocco, crossed with the white Narcissus cantabricus from Spain.  I have at least a dozen bulbs and the flowers on each are distinctly different.   This is the largest flowered and the deepest yellow of them all.  It's a very nice thing, hopefully it will have hybrid vigour and increase to make a big potful in a few years time.

A work day, the first since New Year.   Only a half day, in the kitchen at Kings Cafe.  I could get used to not working but it was good to be back and to see a few folk.  I need to work on in my sixties to pay the bills but  I'm hoping to strike a healthy work/life balance ... I neither need nor want to work anything near full time.

Meg had a run down at The Point, a spit of land by the mouth of the Dysynni accessed under the railway bridge over the river.  The access is covered at high tide so timing can be everything.  No problems today although, note to self: don't take your eye of Meg after throwing the ball.  The ball disappears if she drops it as the grass in the slacks behind the pebbly shoreline is tall and thick!  We found it in the end.

A quiet night in.  Jamie and Tilda are at his.  I'm going to make up some photo cards for sale in the railway shop and have some folk music on while I work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.