Flower Duo*

As so many of you kind people predicted, today was a lot better, even though I still look like a chipmunk. When it is impossible to put one's best face forward, the only thing for it is to hide it until things improve! I did make an exception to go to coffee where I huddled with my best buddies. Gail, who has had the same procedure, assured me that things will improve quickly. Bob wanted me to go to his haircutter with him so he could show her my hair and tell her that's how he wanted his to look. I politely declined. Someone pointed out that I have more hair than him, and I told him that if he really wanted his hair to look like mine, he shouldn't be getting it cut! He has a very fetching looking little quiff.

Mice got into Dan's beehives and he had to burn several of them and sanitize the rest. When he wasn't doing that he was making various forms of cannabis gummies (with and without the psychoactive THC) for most of us, cutting up the tree that fell on Bob and Gail's deck and fixing their leaky loo. (Just had to write that....) The man is truly amazing. It's an overworked word but I use it advisedly in Dan's case. We are all having to think creatively about ways to repay him because he won't take any money...

The weather has been slowly deteriorating all day. As we drove home from coffee the puffy white clouds were beginning to appear above the hills to the east. By the time we finished lunch they were rising above all the hills ringing our valley and it is now cloudy and cold. A small amount of rain is predicted for later in the evening.

I finally got my knitting on track but resolved not to sit on the couch all day, so I made a winter salad with farro, kale, chick peas and squash.  In between cooking each of those things, or 'massaging' in the case of the kale, I was able to knit a couple of rows. 

I finally picked up my prescription but the refills are all screwed up, so I'm contemplating just not taking it. The insurance  has so many rules and regulations for getting it that it just might be easier to do without it.  John is having the same thoughts about the ekcema drug. He got a weird call from some compounding pharmacy in Texas that made very little sense to either of us. The list of questions for the prescribing doctor is growing...

As I write,  the sun is shining underneath a layer of clouds, creating a very interesting light. Looks like a good time to take Spike for a walk now that it stays light a little later....

*The season's first, and so far, only daffodil and a lavatera, which is related to both hollyhock and hibiscus. Once I find a photo treatment I like, I tend to use it a lot. I couldn't decide between these two, so I used them both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.