Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Joys to come!

It's Valentine's Day in India too and they're getting ready.
Today my jetlag caught up, I didn't sleep well and then when I had finally got off I was woken by a phone call to see if I wanted breakfast. I declined. It was kind of them to phone before they cleared away though.
When I did get up I decided to get the bus into town. Bad timing as ever, I was walking across the beach between 11 and 11.30, it was quite warm mid 30s.
The bus costs 25/- (rupees not shillings!) about 25p and takes 45 mins. The buses don't need to have AC as they don't have windows. There's a shot in the extras and one of the beach too. There's also one of the many more primitive beach stalls this one selling snacks - aubergines, chillis, pineapple.
I always used to get an auto rickshaw or a taxi into town then I discovered the bus which is much more fun and a tenth of the price.
On Trivandrum I walked up to Pothy's store, described as an Alayalam of Silks . It's a large store and I know of at least 3 others in Kerala and Tamil Nadu. They sell everything, having recently opened supermarkets in some of the stores. I like the way they have spaces to park your men, nice and close to the cash registers too!
From Pothy's I walked down towards the bus stand empty handed, having failed to spend any money.
I stopped at a cafe and had a fizzy juice and a fried banana which relieved me of that tension. Imagine spending 50p on buses and not spending anything else!
On the bus home I sat next to a local young woman in her 20s and we chatted most of the way home.
I changed quickly once I got to the hotel and went straight to the pool to cool off, bliss.
This evening I met up with a friend of somebody from Edinburgh to hand over a gift from her. We had a lovely time chatting and watching a beautiful sunset. After he left I went and picked up my shortened trousers then had dinner.
I was chatting to one of the waiters in the Kingfisher restaurant. He said he remembered me and as if to prove it, asked if I was going to my school in Tirunelveli again! I guess he really did remember me.
Tired tonight so hopefully I'll sleep well. Thank you for all the lovely comments and good wishes.
Steps today 11081

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.