Icy Jordan Pond

I'm not sure I've ever taken a walk over as much Ice as I did today. The woods and trails were just covered with sheets of ice, and I don't think I would have gotten very far without my slip-on treads. 

Sometimes I will arrange a hike of several miles just so I can revisit a stretch of trail that is maybe 20 yards long. Some places here just resonate with me for some reason and I always get a sense of satisfaction visiting them again.

This photo is not one of those places. This was taken on the way to such a place. When I got there I just put my pack down and sat quietly on a rock for some 20 minutes or so, until the chickadees and nuthatches grew comfortable enough to move about again and the red squirrel stopped chattering. I didn't take any photos, because there was really nothing in particular to see. At least nothing that would show up in a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.