grandma’s…

…horseshoe

pin

back in the day - after she’d broken - her hip and had nowhere - else to go - grandma came to - live with us - for a stretch - and my little - world changed

i was about 5 or 6 - yet i remember - those days fairly - clearly and how - grandma impressed us - with some of her - german traditions and - how she - baked for us - the smells filling - our tiny house - and how she let - me and my sister - tool around in her - jewelry box to discover - fabulous hidden gems - like this one - so delicate and lovely - made of enamel and - with a hand painted flower - she always wore it - pinned to a sweater

one day i was - visiting my mama - and she decided - grandma’s jewelry box - should be in my hands - this was many years - after grandma passed - i can’t tell you - what joy it gave - me to root around - in that big box - again after all those years - it was almost like - coming home with - those pieces of - jewelry, like having - a piece of grandma back - memories came flooding in - tears washed over me - oh i know it sounds - silly because it’s - just a jewelry box - merely pieces of - metal and such - but they represented a - part of her life - told part of - her back story - and even now - after all these - years it still - fills my heart - to overflowing and makes it…

a

happy day…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.