Mist coat

Nephew and I agreed where the newish plaster was dry enough to mist paint and he, being tall, took on the ceilings and tops of the walls. Secondborn turned up and, being bendier than I am, took on the edges and bottoms of the walls. I did the middles.

I took them out for lunch to try Za'atar Grill, the Middle Eastern restaurant which has recently taken the place of the Greek restaurant which took the place of the Syrian restaurant which took the place of the very long-standing and popular Indian restaurant. We had an excellent meal.

We carried on this afternoon joined by my next-door neighbour who is the other half of the joint house-refurbishing project. The plasterer will be moving on to her house soon, and I will return the painting favour but as she used to paint for a living it's not a very fair exchange.

I'd pointed out to Nephew one of the attractions of my house, the community-owned cinema at the end of the street, and he suggested we go there this evening. We saw 'All the Beauty and the Bloodshed' a documentary about Nan Goldin, her photography and her campaign against the billionaire Sackler family for their profiteering from the US opioid crisis. I wish there hadn't been a 20-minute introduction focussing on the Sacklers and the campaign against them as it skewed my watching and I don't think I took in enough about her photography.

Nephew was so keen to experience more of East Oxford on a Saturday night that after that he took us out for a late meal. I don't remember having had two meals out in a day before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.