Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Boxing Things Up

Things need to go! We have far more than we need and a houseful of things neither of our children want after our days. They make that clear.

Whilst telling us we don't need to get rid of the things we love, just the rubbish I hoard. I've come to think differently about things.

I do love this set of dinnerware and coffee set. It's called "The Young Range " by Pontesa in Spain. As a teenager, I saw it in a posh shop in Whitehaven. The shop where my mum bought her lovely red leather Antler suitcases and where I bought my Parker fountain pen for starting Grammar School. 

Well, I first got married at 20 and this was my choice for a wedding present from my auntie and uncle. The marriage didn't last long but the gift remains. I have it displayed in a corner unit and painted my kitchen to match it when I decorated our present home.

The same auntie and uncle gave The Man and I a white, silver-rimmed china set for our Silver Wedding anniversary. I love that set even more and use it for all our special family events.

This set can go. I would rather let it go now, intact, after 50 years for someone else to enjoy than use it and break it or see the vivid pattern fade as it goes daily in the dishwasher. My choice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.