On the edge of the wood

... was a small clump of snowdrops that must have arrived in some garden waste.

A very dull day for taking photos and a came away with very little worth keeping.  I'd called in at the Methodist Church with the lease forms for Positive Image Photographic Club. We used to meet in High Green but gave up that venue during lock-down and met using Zoom or outside in better weather.  The club would like to attract some new members so wanted a place to meet face to face.Very convenient for me (though I get to put the heating on early) and we are going to try it out to see how it works.  The plan is to meet there on the first Monday of the month for a three week trial.

Having carried out my errand and caught up with Cath, who I haven't seen for a long time, I walked up the hill and then down the field path.  The light was very flat, so although I took some photos I had very little worth keeping.

Our Yorkshire Creative Photographers met on Zoom in the afternoon.  We shared some of our collection of images on the theme of `spots'.  Can spots be square?  Also I was able to up date them on my latest news about our exhibition in the Civic Gallery - so a change of date again due to some work on the area we are due to display in. The plan is to cover over the window in that corner, which will be good and provide more display space and also cut out the reflections.  I think it will be better for us.  First it gives us a bit more time and second it will mean that all our work is displayed together in the Panorama Gallery and we don't have to worry about what goes opposite that window.

My final dilemma of the day was to do with the results of Penistone Camera Club taking part in the PAGB inter club selection event.  The choices made were a none starter!  The club really bombed.  Not my problem really and not my baby as my suggestion for how to select  was completely ignored. (We actually had a sure fire way of being reasonably successful.)  However the feedback from what happened at the selection meeting has come back to me.  Out of 20 images - half scored the lowest points and seven more scored one more than the lowest mark!  When I was more involved and on the committee I always steered clear of this selection event because I didn't see us as the kind of club that would do well and anyway I had enough to do to gather together the club entry for the Yorkshire Regional Exhibition.  Something I'm busy doing at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.