Verge

Eddie Leader - Universal Flow

Chilled all day. Scouted some locations for a party, but also went on a 4K Blu-ray buying spree. I remember this feeling when blu-rays first came out. It was exciting to get films for presentation quality as well as reliving movies in a new way.

I bought Mad Max: Fury Road, V for Vendetta, Watchmen: Ultimate Cut, as well as Suspiria 40th anniversary 4K restoration (I also bought Suspiria 2018 on Blu-ray because I liked it also). Can’t wait to watch them, they’re gonna look great.

I loved Mad Max Fury Road, I remember being so tired before watching it on only 3 hours sleep, but that film kept me UP for the entire running time. A great film does that.

I love V for Vendetta also, the film was enjoyable but after reading the comic, I really loved it more. The comic is infinitely better, of course but having Hugo Weaving as V just makes me happy, he’s such a good actor.

Watchmen is a great comic/book. It’s perfect. The movie was an interesting study in adaptations. It seems Zack Snyder just seems to have revisionist obsessions. Although not as good as the Lord of the Rings trilogy, when adapting from a large source material, there’s always going to be issues. I don’t consider Snyder to be a great director but the presentations are cool. I’d put him in the same category as Baz Lurhman and Michael Bay. Just chaos and a lot of hyper stimulation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.