Alfred Street, Stromness

I had to meet the Current Mrs Creel off the Hoy boat this morning at 11.00 a.m. so I was up at 4.30 a.m.

I hid all evidence of the popcorn I’d binged on, unblocked the kitchen sink of coffee grounds, washed and dried the dishes, (three days’ worth) washed out the sink, swept the scullery and emptied the waste bin.  I hung up my nightshirt, made the bed, pummelled the pillows, put away a stray negligence, hoovered the dust, dusted the hoover, there was a vacuum in the cupboard (which as we all know nature abhors) but I have advertised it on EBay.  I discarded a bunch of faded flowers and recycled all old copies of CMC’s Wrestling Weakly.  Luckily I’d previously studied the footman when he cleaned all boots and shoes, and buffed all the household silver using Maud’s approach*.
 
I spent ages searching for the tea strainer then realised, being Monday, it is his day off.  
 
During our stravaig around Stromness we met Alan and Christine, over from Flotta for a rake about, Bill Crichton was oot with his walking poles – going well at ninety years.  Liz was oot washing her car and Mrs A Heddle (yes – the very same) was out walking with her man in the Sooth End.  A repeat appearance of the Boiled Egg Wife who (because I was with the Current Mrs Creel) gave me plenty of cheek.  We also went to visit the former resident of 13 Sooth End.  Then into the café for a fish supper.
 
Back at HQ I hid as CMC carried out her estate inspection, during which she found my book token.  But, I’m not stupid, I was hiding in the panic room.
 
Bobby Graham is 78.
 
*Maud’s approach was famously used by Vladimir Kramnik in the 2000 the world championship to polish off Garry Kasparov.  However, as we all too readily know, his lack of opening preparation  let him down against Hungarian prodigy, Peter Leko.  Peter Leko is 43; apparently his one great regret in life is not seeing Bobby Graham play.

Now, where’s the letter opener ?
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.