Going, going...and still going down.

This is the third time I have blipped the old Inn at St Catherines which  sits on the main road beside Loch Fyne and has blighted the village for more than a decade, but which the Council is still allowing to decay and disfigure the place whilst doing so.

The story remains the same as it  was on this day in 2019 when I last blipped it, and as it was some eight years earlier.  

A a small part of the structure was listed as parts of it date back to the 15th century.   The first time I blipped it there was still a noticeboard telling the story, and the porch - which I believe was integral to the oldest section - was still there.   Eight years on the board was away, but the porch continues to stand at present. 

The councillors that used to drive past it on their way to Kilmory (Argyll & Bute Council's HQ) have been succeeded  by others, but still a blind eye is turned to the unsightly ruin .   There is also an old boat now to the side of it, but who is responsible for that I don't know.

I believe the pier in Inveraray has been sold, which was in the same ownership but this is a sad and sorry saga which still needs action , though I fear the chances of that are as remote as ever. 

The "abandoned and neglected"  provision in the land reform legislation would I think apply if a local body  tried to buy it, but given its state I would be very surprised if  the very small local community were prepared to take such a thing on.  

The only other solution would be compulsory purchase, but again I suspect after that demolition would have to be the next step. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.