Marik_i

By Marik_i

Day of Friends

Day of Friends and Friendship is what Valentine's day is called in Finland. We send cards or text messages to our good friends. I received a card weeks ago from a good old friend, who does not master texting. I had a nice message from a distant cousin living in a near town, but whose contact details I did not have earlier. I had a long letter from an old friend with whom I exchange messages every two or three days. And my good friend here answered my greeting with a two line text message.

I have also exchanged messages with my good friends and former neighbors who lost their aged cat this past Sunday. Their stray cat was the same color as my black and white Kissamissa who came to my yard as a small kitten one cold and rainy All Saints' Eve twenty years ago. Their cat was full grown, but badly injured when she walked to their house. We always thought that our cats must have been related, not only because of their similar coloring, but because they were both very shy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.