With the forecast looking good I decided before I went to bed that today I would walk up the path the goes almost to the top of Kirkstone Pass.

When I got up and everything was grey my motivation disappeared. By 10 o’clock there was a hint of brightness. I made some sandwiches and packed them along with a piece of flapjack, carton of juice and camera with a small, light lens.

There are two ways for me to reach the path. One goes through the fields of Roundhill Farm and the other stays on Kirkstone Road for longer. I chose the fields, knowing that I’ve turned back before because of livestock.

I’ve never seen cattle here* and while Daddy Highland seemed happy eating and the path went off to the right of the photo, I wasn’t taking any chances. By the time I’d gone back to the road I didn’t feel like heading uphill to take the other route so ate my packed lunch back at home.

* it’s usually sheep, the Highlands are in two fields with no public footpath going through and other cattle are sometimes in the one I’d just walked through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.