PandaPics

By pandammonium

Valentine’s Day

Q. When is a crumpet not a crumpet?
A. When it’s a blini.

Apparently, Mr Pandammonium has seen through the ‘It’s your turn to cook this year’ rouse: it was finally my turn to cook.

I found a crumpet recipe and adapted it to make blinis (substitute some of the flour for buckwheat, which isn’t wheat, flour). I topped them with vegan Philadelphia, vegan caviar, which is largely seaweed, and cucumber. I served them with a shot of chilled vodka.

The main course was tandoori not-chicken breast with a butternut squash curry and pilau rice, with a vegan raita and mango chutney on the side.

Dessert was a chocolate mousse. I followed the recipe to the letter, which is rare for me, but the mousse split when I folded in the melted chocolate, giving a strange texture.

It’s definitely Mr Pandammonium’s turn to cook next year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.