Salmonberry

After shopping we walked by the River North Esk in Lasswade.
I was surprised to see this flower, down towards the water below the riverside trees, expecting it to flower in spring. Perhaps it caught the warmth from a west-facing aspect but its companions at the field edge showed no sign of bud. I recognise the flower but cannot recall the name, a trawl through every flower book revealed no identification but from a Google search I believe it is Salmonberry, Rubus spectabilis. 

Extra photo: of one of the four or five buzzards wheeling overhead - we stood and watched for some time.

These were taken on a Sony HX90V, which was originally intended for me to replace Lumix TZ30 no.2 but I I didn't like it. We then bought the TX80, which was far too complicated (and much heavier). Eventually decided to replace the Lumix TZ30 - what a shambles that turned out to be!  All other previous cameras having given up, I'm trying the Sony again - Mr Flum has relinquished his use of it in favour of the TZ80 so we're both well equipped. The Sony doesn't have touch screen but does have a viewfinder, which is a great asset (shame there is a mote on the sensor, though). Point to note is that the subject of the main photo was around eight feet away and has focussed well... so far, so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.