Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

John Knox

The (in)famous Sixteenth Century leader of the Reformation in Scotland. He was against female monarchs and wrote The first Blast of the Trumpet against the Monstruous Regiment of Women which took aim at Mary Queen of England, Mary of Guise, Dowager Queen of Scotland, Regent for Mary Queen of Scots, and Mary Queen of Scots herself. When she ruled Scotland in her own right, he clashed with Mary Queen of Scots who remained a Catholic. There's a lot about him online, here's a link to Wikipedia
 
This statue is to be found in The High Kirk of Edinburgh, commonly known as St Giles Cathedral, where John Knox is buried. I was here on a photoshoot with my photography class, towards the end of which I dislocated my hip yet again. After the first hip replacement I dislocated the joint four times and then a second replacement was done which dislocated ten days post op and then today – so I at least had three years without a dislocation. As before I was taken to the Royal Infirmary by ambulance and the hip was put back in under sedation and T brought me home again late evening after the sedation had worn off. 
 
I have no grumbles at all about the NHS – the ambulance came quite quickly and when I got to A&E I didn’t have long to wait at all. This was despite the fact that every square inch was full of extra beds and trolleys. All the staff I met were kind. I can’t say that I wasn’t fed up about the whole thing and I would now really like to see what the options are about a further operation to fit a fail-safe joint. The one used in the second operation was a half-way house between the normal type of joint and the fail-safe type. I wasn’t consulted about that – certainly with hindsight I would have gone for the fail-safe type, although I know there are some drawbacks – there’s a reduced range of movement and because there’s less give, it can wear loose more quickly which could mean a further operation is needed. At the moment I think I could live with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.