Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Getting back to ‘normal’ at last!

Only a small loaf - but  the last one I made was three years ago!  I used to make a loaf like this about every 5 days. - slice it into 10 slices eat two and freeze the others in pairs for the next few days. Come Covid, and suddenly I was having my shopping done for me, there was no flour anywhere and I had to have ‘ordinary’ bread - large loaves kept in the freezer and used two slices at a time.
I am now back to shopping for myself, of course, but had not got back to making my bread - until today!
Actually that’s not quite true - I ran out of bread the day before yesterday and decided to make some. Unfortunately the yeast I had in the cupboard had a ‘best before’ date of Feb 2020 !  I used it anyway as I already had the flour etc in the pan  - but I knew what the result would be!  
And it was - not risen - solid as a brick! I did eat two slices of it while it was still warm - very chewy but edible. When it got cold, though, it was just like a rock! Bought new yeast (best before date Jun 2024) and a lovely loaf resulted this morning - roll on tea time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.