Pebble Stack

I fancied a day on the coast and perhaps some bird watching, so headed to Pagham Harbour for a wander.  Unfortunately, it was low tide at around lunchtime and, as I discovered, the salt marshes were uncovered for pretty much most of the day with subsequently few birds around in reach of my camera!  I did see some mini-murmurations of Brent Geese who winter on the mashes and a number of wading birds I hadn't seen before, so all was not lost, and I really enjoyed my walk of over 5 miles.

Before heading home I journeyed a few more miles south onto the beach on the Selsey Bill headland. Here the sea was rather more lively (high tide was due about an hour after sunset) and I enjoyed the golden hour photographing waves and gulls.  Initially it was building up to a rather good sunset (extra) but in the end clouds and sea mist turned it into a grey non-event.  

Someone had been enjoying building pebble stacks, and I took advantage of their work with my main image of one set on a groin. Amazingly it stayed in place even as it was being hit by incoming waves.

It was a good day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.